Rules question

If a card says something happens when it comes into play, but you can’t do it, can you still play the card?

Example: Stardrake says to discard 1 card when it enters play. If it was your last card, and you can’t discard, can you still play him?

Comments

  • SlapChopzSlapChopz Posts: 125 ✭✭

    I think you can play it. If the card said "Discard 1 Card to play this card" it would be different

  • ChampionChampion Posts: 415 ✭✭✭

    Obviously this is the perfect time to play him :)

    The card discard is an effect of bringing him into play not a cost to do so.

  • UKDreadnaughtUKDreadnaught Posts: 121Moderator Mod

    As champion said, its not a cost to play the card but an effect of it.

  • KhelthrosKhelthros Posts: 17
    Awesome. That's how we've been handling it, but former magic players thought differently. Thanks guys.
  • thaKingRockathaKingRocka Posts: 11
    I know this is an old one, but I'm curious to know what section of the rules explains this.
  • 406punisher406punisher Posts: 11Applicant
    In the digital game, it allows you to play cards with this effect when you have no other cards in your hand, so for sure you can do this.
  • 4BitBaker4BitBaker Posts: 83Moderator Mod

    Hey Everyone

    Correct, you pretty much read the text per states
    If you don't have a hand you can't discard any cards resulting in the Stardrake naturally coming into play.

    Discard going to be a focus as well in the upcoming Savagery set with additional discarding and effects too

  • thaKingRockathaKingRocka Posts: 11
    I'd like to know where in the rules this is explained though. Every game has its own idiosyncracies. I'm just not sure where it explains this.
  • 4BitBaker4BitBaker Posts: 83Moderator Mod

    Hey thaKingRocka

    This should give you your explanation you need from our official rules :)

    2.2.2: The effects of a card are not optional, unless a card says they are. You always do as much as you can when you play a card (not being able to do part, or all of a card’s effects does not by itself stop the card from being played.)

    https://www.warhammerchampions.com/rules/

  • thaKingRockathaKingRocka Posts: 11
    Perfect. Thank you. I was foolishly looking everywhere but the golden rules. Of course.
Sign In or Register to comment.