Are Wizards sub-optimal?

Disclosure:- I am new to CCG's but have played wargames/boardgames for years.

What is the point of Wizards (except maybe war/wiz)? They can't use abilities when a spell is deployed, they cause you to use 6-9 (?) cards in your deck that other champs can't use, and by splitting the deck into 3 groups of cards increases the likelihood of having a poor hand to choose from.

All the 'good' decks I have come up with use warrior exclusively.

Please let me know if you agree, or if I am wrong please explain why to a CCG noob.

Thanks

Comments

• stubobjstubobj Posts: 44

There are some pretty powerful spells. It all depends what you want from you deck. At this point with the game still being new the go to decks are very aggressive and use only warriors. But there are definitely some good wizard decks out there. I play celestant prime and archaon to very good effect.

• CoffeeBlitzCoffeeBlitz Posts: 41

It really depends on the deck, but will agree that on average wizards are weaker than warriors. Most of the best decks have little to no wizard cards.

In terms of raw power, many spells are stronger than units. Like arcane bolt at 3 corners does 7 damage which is better than any 3 corner unit in the game with no down side.

One issue with spells is that there are a lot of underpowered ones dealing below average damage or healing with a really sub par effect. So its hard to fill a whole deck with powerful spells. Also theres over all pretty weak synergy with champions but units get tons of champ synergy. Many bad spells have effectd that require too much setup to be consistently good or require too specific a board on the opponents side. Last issue I can think of is many spells only activate on their last corner making them a great removal target.

I never run pure wizard since so many spells impact units. Some good wizards and war/wiz champs are:

Nagash
    Lord of Change
    Gaunt Summoner
    Archeon
    Ghoul King

• DragonetDragonet Posts: 47